surface brightness, subhalos

Moritz Haslbauer
  • 27 Sep '17

Dear Dr. Dylan Nelson,

I am currently studying the properties of galaxies in the Illustris simulation. Therefore some questions arises and I would be glad if I can ask you some of them.

1a) Could it be that a single subhalo contains more than one galaxy? Or in other words: How can I identify dwarf (or satellite) galaxies and distinguish them from their host galaxies? (only by there different masses(distances)?) 1b) What is the difference between central and satellite subhalos?

2) I want to calculate the mean surface brightness within the circle of a given radius. Unfortunately, I am not able to find the data for the surface brightness (mag/arcsec**2) in the Illustris data. Can I find them maybe in the fits file? Since I want to calculate the mean surface brightness within a given radius, I would be interested in getting the surface brightness map over a given area, which contains all my selected galaxies (and not just the mean surface brightness from a single galaxy).

I appreciate your support and many thanks in advance!

Sincere regards, Moritz Haslbauer

Dylan Nelson
  • 6 Oct '17

Hi Moritz,

1a. A "halo" can contain many "subhalos". The most massive subhalo we call the central, and any others are satellites. Therefore, if you wanted to find e.g. satellites with stellar mass between 10^9 and 10^10 Msun around clusters with a central BCG of stellar mass between 10^11.4 and 10^11.6 Msun, you could first search and find all central galaxies matching the high mass criterion, then look through the other subhalos (i.e. satellites) of each halo hosting such a central.

1b. As above, the central is the most massive subhalo of the group/halo. See also the first question of the Millennium-II FAQ.